Eastern European Post Punk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eastern European Post Punk

Mentioned on another thread a time spent digging through racks for post punk (loosely based) music from the former Eastern Bloc. While at university I studied Eastern European Studies for a year following an unexplained interest from my teenage years. Eastern Europe had some colossal bands and records during the 1980s that didn't get great distribution in the West but were well known in the East. I'll probably try and do a couple of posts to sum up some of the main sounds that I like from the time, and being a Geographer the posts will loosely follow one particular area at a time.

First up I'll play out some favourites from the former Yugoslavia. Yugoslavia was perhaps the most open of the Eastern Bloc states to the first wave of punk and the subsequent sounds. Each state seemed to have a distinct sound - Serbia was mostly more punk influenced with a dash of goth, Croatia more new wave and Slovenia leaning more towards the synth-industrial-dada axis but these are generalities.

Defektno Efekniki - D. Defektno Efekniki were a post punk group from Serbia. This song appeared on a compilation album and has really great rumbling basslines through the song. I love the homage to Piet Mondrian in the cover art of the LP.

Igra Staklenih Perli - Gusterov Trg. This is more of a prog rock song but 10 years too late and dreamt up in a Serbian field. Really like the symphonic solos and melodies. Never managed to snag this album and it goes for a fair price on the t'internet.

Pekinska Patka - Krug. Perhaps the best known Serbian punk band, this song comes from their second album 'Strah Od Monotonijie' when the group had taken a much darker turn. Similar in tone musically to the Defektno Efekniki track above but with much darker vocals and vibe.