Recommend a record deck for me!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommend a record deck for me!

I've had a Marantz deck that I got from Richer Sounds for God knows how long now - at least ten years.
    It is, however, slowly giving up the ghost and running slow, making weird noises, etc.
    Being whatever the opposite of an audiophile is, I know sweet FA about decks and such like.
    Can anyone recommend a deck for listening at home pleasures?
    I thank you.
    To infinity - and beyond!

I've had Rega Planar decks for a long while now, and see no reason to change. Having said that, the drive belt has to be changed manually from 45 to 33, which some people may find a bit of a pain, but I'm used to it. Not a lot to go wrong with them really. I'm no expert by any means, but I reckon it's a pretty solid turntable. I had a RP 2, and the one I have now is a 3. Don't know what number they are up to now. Mine gets pretty heavy usage, and it's fine. The belts are pretty cheap to replace. I picked up the latest one second hand for £75, and it's good as gold.
    Everyone tear down your own little wall
    That keeps you from being a part of it all
    Because you've got to be one with the one and all
    You've just got to be close to it all

Comment

I've had various Pro-ject decks over the years and have never had a problem. The first was the original Debut which also had the manual speed change thing - not sure if it's still the same on the newer models - but you quickly become accustomed to it. I eBayed that after a few years and got back almost as much as I'd originally paid for it new
      North of the River Cole

Comment

I have the new-ish Project Debut Carbon (had it about a year) and it's been very good. Carbon fibre tonearm. Motor is suspended in sorbothane, damping any vibration - much better than the old Debut model which could pick up some motor rumble.