Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• East meets west (and other regions)

Hello Vultures,

I have been searcghing for many years those weird and elsuive lp's which include "traditional" folk instruments mixed with either jazz or rock groups.

Currently I have the following

Raga Rock - The Folkswingers (sitar)

Great International Hits - Balsara and his Singing Sitars

Sitar Beat - Big Jim Sullivan

Rock Encounter - Sabicas with Joe Beck (flamenco)

Pop Goes the Zither (can't remember who is on this one)

Also have a 60's ep for an aussie kids show called "Skippy, the Bush Kangaroo" which features a groovy instrumental with digeridoo(!&#33

I have heard about the John Berberian lp called Middle Eastern Rock featuring the oud which I have not got (but would love to get a copy).

I am looking for similar stuff which features instruments such as Bouzouki; Balalaika; Accordion; koto; etc etc etc.
    Can anyone recommend any other lp's?

Cheers,
    David Soundsville
    God bless Fatso.

Eric Jupp did the skippy theme didn't he ?

In terms of your question, I believe there is a yothu yindi 12" which features the didge, and there is some strange instrumentation on the various versions of John Sangsters 'kaffir song/theme' - this tune is on one of the Eric Jupp Lp's and also the Don Burrows live in Montreaux album

Comment

john berberian
      bill plummer
      phill woods

Comment

couple of earlier threads on this you can search for - one titled 'Eastern Mysticism' and the other about the Indo Jazzmen. both have several pages of recommendations (you may have already seen them or posted on them of course&#33

Comment

Middle Eastern Rock is one of the most incredible records I have. Seriously rate it. Can be expensive on ebay so dig around for it.

I think there was a record by Joe Harriet called 'Hum Dono' which was nice indo-jazz. I think anyway.

www.thesoundlibrary.net <- Changed URL

Comment

also look out for &quot;jazz meets world&quot; on saba