Records going to landfill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Records going to landfill

Does anyone know, have any links to, or care to estimate the amount of records that are thrown away or sent to landfill?

Vinyl and 78s?

Did this happen more in the past or is it still going on?

I can't seem to google anything, and I have no experience of waste or dumps. I suppose charity shops regularly throw away material they can't sell - or is that wrong, is it kept in circulation?

Does anyone know?

And as a side question, do you throw records away?
    Spirit Duplicator—collectable, charming, affordable... and also socially networked on FB / Twitter / Instagram.

Originally posted by eine View Post

And as a side question, do you throw records away?

Occasionally I do this, some stuff is just not worth sending back to the charity shops as it will just sit there and clog them up, I the think the knock on effect of this is that they're not as keen to stock vinyl again. I also snap them so when they go to the land fill and actually go in, as opposed to some dealer getting them, some crap just needs to be took out of circulation IMO I know this sounds a bit harsh!

I know a lot of charity shops bin stuff when it doesn't shift, a lot of stuff we can't shift in Oxfam goes to 'Book barn', or theres a lady who makes fruit bowls etc out of them who gives us 10p each for them!
    "Hangin' out with you two is like partying with Fugazi"

Comment

Originally posted by mr sayers View Post
      Occasionally I do this, some stuff is just not worth sending back to the charity shops as it will just sit there and clog them up, I the think the knock on effect of this is that they're not as keen to stock vinyl again. I also snap them so when they go to the land fill and actually go in, as opposed to some dealer getting them, some crap just needs to be took out of circulation IMO I know this sounds a bit harsh!