Tedious Turntable Trauma

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tedious Turntable Trauma

My turntable that has served me well for around 15 years is starting to misbehave. I'm not an audiophile and it is a fairly bog standard Dual belt drive. It has started to vibrate when spinning, not all the time but it can vibrate to a degree that it makes the needle jump. I would ideally like to avoid getting a new one, as I am attached to this one and I'm also a tight bastard. Any ideas or thoughts much appreciated.

Bearing? I'm no expert either, but after 15 years, the poor thing probably deserves the attention of someone who does understand these things. I'm not one to talk mind. I ran my Rega into the ground, the motor went. Luckily I found someone on eBay selling a motor. A quick solder job and I was back up & running. At the same time. my mate sold all his records, and sold me his Rega to keep me going. I now have a spare for when the current one gives way under the constant barrage of dodgy 45s
    Good luck with it, being without a turntable is a nightmare.
    Cue Mr Eclectiktronic
    Everyone tear down your own little wall
    That keeps you from being a part of it all
    Because you've got to be one with the one and all
    You've just got to be close to it all

Comment

I've recently had a dabble in the world of fixing turntables.
      It very quickly became clear that trying to find an individual part was more expensive than buying a whole stereo.
      My problem was a suspected dead head / cartridge / stylus for kit that was discontinued. The combined price of these items individually was over £100, it was obvious pretty quickly that the solution was to buy a whole identical stereo to mine and cannibalise it. For the princely cost of £15

Best of luck, and from my recent experience, don't give up and buy new kit, stay tight!

Comment