July 2019 Finds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• July 2019 Finds

A box full of singles and EPs from around the world in a chazza today (all in mint condition too). Heavy on the German unfortunately but well worth a detailed scan. Would have taken a punt on a few more but a £1 a pop so limited myself to these which I am very happy with.

Around the world in a morning: Jamaica - Lebanon - Brazil - Germany* - France - Zummerset.

Lili Verona - Traditional Songs Of Jamaica. A delight. Very much pre reggae. Is this mento? I'm no expert, certainly some calypso leanings. A brief internet trawl indicates Lili Verona may have made her way to London around the same time as Lord Kitchener. Hence the UK HMV EP I guess.

Rinda / Souad Hashem - Musical Souvenirs: Beirut. I can't begin to describe how great this EP is. Find of the year.

Trio Nago - Chanson du Folklore Breslien. Brazil before the rhythm really took over.Lovely.

Die Minstrels- Gruezi Wohl, Frau Stirnimaa! / Big Fat Daddy's Square Dance. *Actually the group were Swiss and this was a number one there although also a big hit in Germany and this is a German issue. I had to buy it for the cover, note the hairy armpit detail! Record itself is not as bad I thought it would be - fiddles and banjo rather than oompah.

Edith Piaf - Non Je Ne Regrette Rien.

Adge Cutler & The Wurzels - Scrumpy & Western
    . i have an enduring soft spot for Adge and his Wurzels. Of course I do come from 'round dese areal. 'Ark at ee.

Originally posted by candiman View Post

Rinda / Souad Hashem - Musical Souvenirs: Beirut. I can't begin to describe how great this EP is. Find of the year.
    That sounds intriguing ... I shall try and find that later ...

Nice catch!

"White paper inner sleeve is pristine ..."

Comment